* September 15, 2014, 09:34:21 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Come Chat with us live! Learn how HERE!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: StarGate Command Map <[Alpha One Released]>  (Read 55577 times)
Plague Bringer


Turrets: +147/-187
Posts: 3812


« Reply #60 on: February 14, 2007, 01:52:54 PM »

I remember that episode, that was cool....Yeah, [tycho], I guess you are doing the MALP Tongue, also, we could have the video feed coming into the control room Cheesy, I think that'd be really cool!
Logged

U R A Q T
Plague Bringer


Turrets: +147/-187
Posts: 3812


« Reply #61 on: February 14, 2007, 02:31:26 PM »

Gate Platform = Done

Logged

U R A Q T
[tycho]


Turrets: +0/-0
Posts: 38


« Reply #62 on: February 15, 2007, 12:15:23 AM »

the other side gate room is almost done, just need to finish up the detailing, but, alas it isent textued. I can't seem to get the new textuers to load...


I put a folder in  Trem/base/Textures/scgmap/{textues}


but nothing happens.....wtf?




EDIT: damm your gate room's pretty.
Logged

acgamer since 04'

[tycho]
Plague Bringer


Turrets: +147/-187
Posts: 3812


« Reply #63 on: February 15, 2007, 12:33:47 AM »

good to hear that you're doing well on your side,  C:/Program Files/Tremulous/base/textures/StarGate <-- that's mine...All of your textures have to be in .tga format (http://www.gimp.org/macintosh/ {You said you're running a Mac?} The Gimp is a great editing program if you dont allready have it, it's good even for opening an image and saving it as a .tga)  [PS. Love your profile location Tongue]

EDIT: I'm starting on the right hallway now, gate room is done, really this time.







Logged

U R A Q T
[tycho]


Turrets: +0/-0
Posts: 38


« Reply #64 on: February 15, 2007, 12:36:12 AM »

mk.....fixed it. They were all jpegs....whoops.



And yes I have gimp.



EDIT:

er.....still doesnt work. Saved a few as .tga, still nothig new shows up in the menu in gtk.....


damm I feel like a noob. Ive just never mapped anything using my own textures...
Logged

acgamer since 04'

[tycho]
Plague Bringer


Turrets: +147/-187
Posts: 3812


« Reply #65 on: February 15, 2007, 12:49:24 AM »

did you close and reopen GTK?  :wink:
Logged

U R A Q T
[tycho]


Turrets: +0/-0
Posts: 38


« Reply #66 on: February 15, 2007, 12:54:27 AM »

lol...course I did.


anyway, could you either send me the textues you are using...or post a link to them? I want to use em.

im just gonna map everything in caulk until I can figure this out then.


yes, I love my mac!
Logged

acgamer since 04'

[tycho]
Plague Bringer


Turrets: +147/-187
Posts: 3812


« Reply #67 on: February 15, 2007, 12:58:27 AM »

I'm using all of the textures that can be found in the ADOC,  evil8, andromeda, gamma_core, transit, and derilict b folders (of course you will only have some of those if you download the maps)
Logged

U R A Q T
[tycho]


Turrets: +0/-0
Posts: 38


« Reply #68 on: February 15, 2007, 01:36:21 AM »

uhhhhg.....the offworld gateroom is complete, but untextured.


this is getting kinda frustrating...

I have textures in tga format in trem/base/textures/sg/

but nothing shows up in gtk.


UHHGGG


perhaps I should start a new thread that will be seen by more people.
Logged

acgamer since 04'

[tycho]
Plague Bringer


Turrets: +147/-187
Posts: 3812


« Reply #69 on: February 15, 2007, 01:46:32 AM »

perhaps, you could always just use Hamunaptra's textures as a place holder Tongue, i'm off to see the last 15 minutes of StarGate and then get to bed (I have the left corridor up to the office by the freight elevator in the very rough stages of dev.
Logged

U R A Q T
[tycho]


Turrets: +0/-0
Posts: 38


« Reply #70 on: February 15, 2007, 06:14:36 AM »

couldent fix the prob......so im just using the karith textues.


a snow theme isned of sand....eh, its still awesome.
Logged

acgamer since 04'

[tycho]
Plague Bringer


Turrets: +147/-187
Posts: 3812


« Reply #71 on: February 15, 2007, 01:17:55 PM »

there are many maps with sand and/or temple textures if you need them, but some ice caverns will be pretty cool, you could even get some mirrors in there if you wanted, or slippery patches...

EDIT::You could model it as some Tok'Ra tunnels, I know that the Tok'Ra would never get a gate down there, but it would add to the stargate feel of that half of the map.
Logged

U R A Q T
DASPRiD
Administrator

*

Turrets: +21/-2
Posts: 549



WWW
« Reply #72 on: February 15, 2007, 01:35:58 PM »

Plague Bringer, I suggest you to use the MD3 Stargate model I've used in Hamunaptra as easter egg, it's highly detailed. Just take credits of the author.
Logged

url=https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_xclick&business=mail%40dasprids%2ede&item_name=DASPRiD%27s&no_shipping=0&no_note=1&tax=0&currency_code=EUR&lc=DE&bn=PP%2dDonationsBF&charset=UTF%2d8][/url]
Plague Bringer


Turrets: +147/-187
Posts: 3812


« Reply #73 on: February 15, 2007, 02:08:46 PM »

OMG! TEXTURES! I FIGURED IT OUT! base/MODELS/MAPOBJECTS! I'll edit the screenshots of the gateroom with the new gate later, right now my main focus is going to be finishing the left corridors and rooms
Logged

U R A Q T
Plague Bringer


Turrets: +147/-187
Posts: 3812


« Reply #74 on: February 15, 2007, 06:13:41 PM »

Quote from: "n00b pl0x"
oh wtf theres 3 of them?
Actually...
    Starwars Episode I-VI
    StarWars: Clone Wars
    StarGate: The Movie
    StarGate: SG1
    StarGate: Atlantis
    StarTrek
    StarTrek: The Animated Series
    StarTrek: The Next Generation
    StarTrek: Voyager
    StarTrek: DeepSpace Nine
    StarTrek: Enterprise
    StarTrek: The Movie I-VI
    StarTrek: Generations
    StarTrek: First Contact
    StarTrek: Insurrection
    StarTrek: Nemesis

That's 27 Series and Movies starting with the word "Star".
Logged

U R A Q T
techhead


Turrets: +77/-73
Posts: 1496

I like playing Tremulous, but who here doesn't???


WWW
« Reply #75 on: February 15, 2007, 08:29:00 PM »

Why not put the gate inside the pyramid, with a trigger_hurt outside the door to discourage people from going outside at all?
The you could put Ancient-Remains-esque tunnels inside, nice and alien-base-ish
Logged

I'm playing Tremulous on a Mac!
MGDev fan-club member
Techhead||TH
/"/""\"\
\"\""/"/
\\:.V.://
Copy and paste Granger into your signature!
TRaK


Turrets: +94/-21
Posts: 442


WWW
« Reply #76 on: February 15, 2007, 09:19:20 PM »

That looks promising  Smiley  I hope you finish this.
Logged

Plague Bringer


Turrets: +147/-187
Posts: 3812


« Reply #77 on: February 15, 2007, 09:59:16 PM »

All help would be appreciated, [tycho] is stuck making a MALP so we can justify the gate being open longer then 38 minutes, I'm sure he'd like help with that. AFAIK the alien base is going to be based in some ice caverns (I hope they turn into abandoned Tok'Ra tunnels or some Goa'Uld temple or mothership though).
Logged

U R A Q T
David
Spam Killer
*
*
*

Turrets: +249/-273
Posts: 3543

David


« Reply #78 on: February 15, 2007, 10:20:55 PM »

In the interest of accuracy...
A malp cant hold a gate open for more than 38 min.
The only things that can do that are insanely large power sources, normally black holes, although the Asurans do have a means to do it.
Maybe have a button in the control room, and on the DHD to dial it, and then it shuts down after a minute, then you could have the DHD and control room button away from there gates, to promote more team work.
Also, the gate is one-way, and there has never been any hint of it being changed somehow. The only thing that's two way is sending energy signals through, as well as gravitational fields etc.
A ring transporter could probably go both ways, but would be a bitch to map.


Also, who says all has to be well at the SGC? you could have the aliens having already attacked, and the place in disarray.
Logged

Any maps not in the MG repo?  Email me or come to irc.freenode.net/#mg.
--
My words are mine and mine alone.  I can't speak for anyone else, and there is no one who can speak for me.  If I ever make a post that gives the opinions or positions of other users or groups, then they will be clearly labeled as such.
I'm disappointed that people's past actions have forced me to state what should be obvious.
I am not a dev.  Nothing I say counts for anything.
Plague Bringer


Turrets: +147/-187
Posts: 3812


« Reply #79 on: February 15, 2007, 10:57:13 PM »

The MALP would be sending in some video feed. Since when are gates one way? The only transporter that can be turned off and on that I've seen is the one in MEEP and you can only turn one end on there (besides, I have no idea how to do something as complex as that). Also, having the gate dial, and the particle effects involved in establishing the event horizon would be far too complex for me.
Logged

U R A Q T
[tycho]


Turrets: +0/-0
Posts: 38


« Reply #80 on: February 17, 2007, 05:45:25 AM »

ok, the offworld map is almost complete. it's kinda like karith cept less detailed, and with a stargate, lol. it's complely playable as a small normal map, a little smaller than the size of atcs zalpha.

 combined with the sgc it should be perfect.

i will post the .map file:

http://ihostupost.com/files/148/offworld_a3.txt


just change it from a .txt to a .map
the filehosting im using only will take .txt or pics


EDIT: feel free to do some retexutreing and please, add some lights.
Logged

acgamer since 04'

[tycho]
Plague Bringer


Turrets: +147/-187
Posts: 3812


« Reply #81 on: February 17, 2007, 02:00:47 PM »

i'm really *teh shit* when it comes to lighting Tongue i suck with that kinda stuff

wow, nothing like what I expected at all
Logged

U R A Q T
Ace1


Turrets: +0/-0
Posts: 108


« Reply #82 on: February 17, 2007, 06:14:17 PM »

man that map is the shit
Logged

img]http://img515.imageshack.us/img515/6499/ace1ho5.jpg[/img]
[tycho]


Turrets: +0/-0
Posts: 38


« Reply #83 on: February 17, 2007, 06:45:09 PM »

as in good or bad?


keep in mind it's still very alpha.... this is ony to show you what im working on.
Logged

acgamer since 04'

[tycho]
Plague Bringer


Turrets: +147/-187
Posts: 3812


« Reply #84 on: February 17, 2007, 07:14:36 PM »

@Ace1 - Hey Ace, how's $PC$ doin'? I'm out of [ICE], I think Vash left too Tongue. Oh, and...thanks? Tongue

@[tycho] - I had to change the size fullclip to match the Stargate model I'm using (from Hamunaptra). Lighting is really screwed up, hurts to look at the walls in gamma 1.3 so I made them a little darker. The SGC is almost completely playable, I just need to put in another 3 (I think) corridors, a few doors, and put some details into the armoury and cooridors.
Logged

U R A Q T
[tycho]


Turrets: +0/-0
Posts: 38


« Reply #85 on: February 17, 2007, 07:18:18 PM »

so are you taking over the project? or can i still work on my part of the map?


theres still a few things i would like to add:

break a pane of a window above the gate
add ladders in the big vally thing.
add details to the big walls
add a cavern thing below
finish lighting
add a dhd

could you post your sgc.map file?
Logged

acgamer since 04'

[tycho]
Plague Bringer


Turrets: +147/-187
Posts: 3812


« Reply #86 on: February 17, 2007, 08:03:38 PM »

I'll PM you a txt version of the .map file

and no, i'm not taking over
Logged

U R A Q T
[tycho]


Turrets: +0/-0
Posts: 38


« Reply #87 on: February 17, 2007, 08:11:46 PM »

mmm.....nice map. i though the control room was higher up in the gateroom.


anyway, this appears to be coming along nicely. can't wait to see the next version of your map. oh, and you do know how to use caulk, right?
Logged

acgamer since 04'

[tycho]
Ace1


Turrets: +0/-0
Posts: 108


« Reply #88 on: February 17, 2007, 08:17:45 PM »

Quote from: "[tycho
"]as in good or bad?


keep in mind it's still very alpha.... this is ony to show you what im working on.
as in looks mega sweet
Logged

img]http://img515.imageshack.us/img515/6499/ace1ho5.jpg[/img]
Ace1


Turrets: +0/-0
Posts: 108


« Reply #89 on: February 17, 2007, 08:19:29 PM »

Quote from: "Plague Bringer"
@Ace1 - Hey Ace, how's $PC$ doin'? I'm out of [ICE], I think Vash left too Tongue. Oh, and...thanks? Tongue

@[tycho] - I had to change the size fullclip to match the Stargate model I'm using (from Hamunaptra). Lighting is really screwed up, hurts to look at the walls in gamma 1.3 so I made them a little darker. The SGC is almost completely playable, I just need to put in another 3 (I think) corridors, a few doors, and put some details into the armoury and cooridors.
yea PC$ is doin well thanks plague. yes vash has left he is now MATT. and all the best plague
Logged

img]http://img515.imageshack.us/img515/6499/ace1ho5.jpg[/img]
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
TremPlus theme by Ingar, based on AF316 theme by Fedhog
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!